Awards & Prizes

2018 Kai Siegbahn Prize (download announcement)


The Prize was established in 2009 in honor of Kai Siegbahn, the founder of Nuclear Instruments and Methods A (NIMA). The purpose of the Prize is to recognize outstanding experimental achievement in synchrotron radiation research with a significant component of instrument development. The 2018 award shall be announced at the 13th International Conference on Synchrotron Radiation Instrumentation. For call for nominations, please see the release announcement from Elsevier.



SRI Awards


When submitting the abstract through the regular online abstract submission process, applicants will be asked to confirm their interest in being considered for the awards – Young Engineer/Scientist Award or Poster Awards. They will have to confirm their eligibility if they choose to apply for the awards. No application will be accepted after the abstract submission deadline. The awards will be presented at the close of the conference.



1. SRI Young Engineer/Scientist Award


The goal of the award is to motivate innovative ideas and projects that will advance the synchrotron or XFEL technology or have high potential impact. The award will be given to the best oral or poster presentation. The winner will receive an award certificate and USD 1,000.


Applicants must be under the age of 40 on 2018/6/10 to be eligible.  All applicants are required to submit the following documents:

  • An abstract on any aspect of synchrotron or XFEL instrumentation.
  • A Curriculum Vita.
  • One to two letters of recommendation sent directly by the recommender(s) to



2. SRI Poster Awards


The awards aim to encourage graduate students and young scientists to take part in the SRI conference, which offers a great opportunity to learn about the latest developments in synchrotron or XFEL science, engineering, and instrumentation, and to interact with synchrotron professionals from all over the world. The awards will be decided based on the presentation and the letter of recommendation. The winners will receive an award certificate and USD 500.

All applicants are required to submit a poster abstract on any aspect of synchrotron or XFEL instrumentation.


Photonics Poster Award

We are delighted to announce that our partner Photonics would like to offer a Photonics Poster Award to our participants at the conference. The nomination will be assessed by the SRI 2018 Organizing Committee. In addition to receiving an award certificate and USD 500, the winner is encouraged to submit full-length paper to be published in the journal Photonics after the standard journal reviewing process, the article processing charges will be fully waived.

All applicants are required to submit a poster abstract on the science of photonics.


2018 Elsevier Kai Siegbahn Prize

Dr. Christian Tusche,

Forschungszentrum  Jülich (Germany)


Dr. Tusche solved the long standing problem of efficient spin- and angle-resolved photoemission by introducing the concept of spin-resolved momentum microscopy. Using a newly designed instrument, Dr. Tusche pushed this method to a resolution and efficiency that is unsurpassed by conventional ARPES techniques. While this alone represents a major step forward in todays ARPES instrumentation, he further combined this new high-resolution momentum microscope with a novel highly stable imaging spin filter.

The extremely efficient imaging spin-filter and the spin-resolving momentum microscope will have a huge impact on the way spin-resolved photoemission experiments will be carried out in the future at synchrotron facilities, where measurement efficiency is an uttermost priority.

SRI 2018 Young Scientist/Engineer Award

Sergio Carbajo

Associate Staff Scientist

SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory and Stanford University

Abstract title: Advanced Laser Heater Shaping for Microbunching Instability Suppression in Free Electron Lasers

SRI Poster Awards

  1. Raul Garcia-Diez   
    Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie GmbH (HZB)

    Poster (PB7-10): Characterization of real-world electrocatalysts under operando conditions by soft x-ray spectroscopy

  2. Makoto HIROSE   
    Graduate School of Engineering, Osaka University,  Japan 
    Poster (PC3-01): Development and application of hard X-ray spectro-ptychography using Kirkpatick-Baez mirrors

  3. Jens Stellhorn     
    Kumamoto University

    Poster (PC9-09): Anomalous X-ray Scattering Experiments for Disordered Materials at the SAGA Light Source 

Photonics Poster Award

Nazanin Samadi       University of Saskatchewan, SK, Canada    

Poster (PD4-02): A Vertical Phase Space Beam Position and Emittance Monitor for Synchrotron Radiation